Making Spray Paint Trees

I have a couple of boxes filled with almost empty cans of spray paint and I’d like to re-stock, so I’m doing some paintings that don’t require perfect caps or large amounts of paint.

Below is a magical tree where some fairies or some other illuminated creatures might live. I had Picasso’s Blue Period on the mind hoping that would provide a little inspiration. I wanted to achieve a sense of movement in the background so that the scene felt busy and active.

magic tree.jpg

Magical Tree

I wasn’t sure what effect the blue would give . . . would it be sad? Or would it be calm? I guess maybe it gives off a cold effect. I decided the next tree should have a little green added to create a more eerie feeling.

The tree below was inspired by one of the trees in my yard that was right in front of my face while I was painting. It’s just an old tree with big roots.

tree-2

Blue Tree

It turned out ok. The background could have a more interesting texture. I think I’m getting more comfortable making trees. I still have lots of cans to use up before I let myself buy new cans . . . so, back to the drawing board.

Leave a Reply

